More about me

I’ve been tagged by Sylv, so I’ll just jump right in.

10 years ago:
I was all of 16 years old (my god, has it been that long?!). All I remember from this year is my father being diagnosed with throat cancer and, somehow, a friendship completely dissolving. My father is fine, but I never spoke to that friend again. The weird part is that nothing really happened, it was one of those slow endings. The kind where you stop calling or hanging out with each other as much until, eventually, you moved on with your life.

5 years ago:
I met the bf, Tom, shortly after transferring to Cornell. I didn’t think I would jump into a long term relationship after the messy breakup I had with the ex before I transferred. But Tom must have put a spell on me or something cause here we are. It got serious really fast; all of a sudden his dad and his grandmother (his grandmother people!) came up to Ithaca for a “visit”. Later I found out they were doing recon for his mom, who wasn’t able to come up. I swear he’s one of the best things that has ever happened to me (and the one that aides my yarn addiction).

1 year ago:
I moved up here to be with Tom after graduating from grad school. It was a bit of a culture shock moving to South Jersey! It’s such a tiny town, after Miami and even Savannah. (Thankfully I can drive or take the train to Philly whenever I want) I still don’t know many people in this area and I’m still looking for that dream job all this
education promised me. But I’m happy, I live with my best friend and have met some great people.

I don’t really remember what I did yesterday (I’m getting old). I ran some errands, knitted a bit, went to the gym, and watched yet another episode of 24. Oh, I did get some Harry Potter time in there. I’m trying to read it slowly in order to make it last, so far I’m done with three chapters.

I mailed out some yarn to Illanna, started a pattern I’m testing/proofreading, went to Target, made dinner, and I sit here waiting for Tom so that we can go to the gym. I really don’t know where my time goes. I did some knitting on the minisweater, but I still have a bit to finish up. Now I’m looking at it and it seems that the sleeves are a little big. I might have to go down a size to make the sleeves tighter, though with my luck they will be too tight!

Hopefully, I’ll get more knitting and pattern proofing done. I also set a date with Tom to go see Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (yes, sometimes I have to set dates with my own boyfriend, I can’t wait for him to decide on something. Have you noticed how much 24 I’ve been watching? That’s all Tom.)

5 snacks I enjoy:
I haven’t been snacking much since I started going to the gym. I do have a major sweetooth. One of my favorite things are cupcakes! I love them, they are so pretty and taste so good. I also love Nutella, yum! Some other things I enjoy: Pocky, cookies, and does sushi count as a snack? How about lox?

5 bands/singers that I know the lyrics of MOST of their songs:
I hope nothing is too embarrassing here. nine inch nails, U2, Franz Ferdinand, The Libertines, The Shins. I also know Britney Spears stuff, but I don’t listen to her. Really I don’t. Ok except for Toxic, but that’s the only one.

Things I would do with $100,000,000:
To be honest, nothing. I think Tom and I would just do nothing, we would just hang out. I would like to travel to Europe and Japan, pay off my student loans, and probably give a ton of money to my parents, brother, and friends. The rest I would just save as our “retirement” account.

5 locations I’d like to run away to:
Tokyo, Paris, Barcelona, Provence, and then anywhere my friends are (yep, I cheated in this question).

5 bad habits I have:
I tend to procrastinate, I never make the bed, I don’t fill the ice cube tray, I don’t call people back sometimes, and I tend to hoard things (hence my yarn stash).

5 things I like doing:
Taking pictures, knitting, hanging out with friends, sharing an awesome meals with friends, and baking.

5 things I would never wear:
Pleather, fake designer stuff, a trend to be trendy, a fake “vintage” tshirt, or orange lipstick (don’t ask me why).

5 TV shows I like:
The Office (the British one), Reno 911, Chapelle Show, Desperate Housewives, and 24. (these are just off the top of my head, I would say Seinfeld if it was still running, or any HBO show if I had been quicker)

5 movies I like:
hmm, this one is harder. Old Boy, The Machinist, HP Prisoner…., and I’ll think of another two later. (I’m a harsh critic)

5 biggest joys at the moment:
Having good food in the kitchen, a roof over my head and sharing it all with my boyfriend/best friend. Meeting awesome craftsters from around the world and helping them out whenever and however I can.

5 favorite toys:
My digi cam, my 40gb iPod (40 baby. 40.), my Kitchen Aid 5qt stand mixer, the yarn/needle stash of course, and my comp because without it I wouldn’t get to know a lot of you.

I don’t know if I’m supposed to tag people, so I’ll just email you to tag you.

Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like

  • sylv July 21, 2005 at 2:51 am

    Yeah, so cool. This thing is really great to get to know the people better, almost like you’ve met them. Nice to hear about Tom, he seems like a nice guy. (isn’t it the best thing when your lover is also your best friend?!!)And… I feel like I’ve got all the same bad habits as you do ! Just make the bed when we have guests !! 😉 But hey, if you had those million $, you could come over & we could have some fun knitting together… ;-)))

  • yahaira July 21, 2005 at 9:32 am

    I would totally do a world tour and meet all my awesome internet friends and knit with them. Wouldn’t that be a blast?!I only do the bed when certain company is coming, if it’s good friends they know I won’t even bother. The only other time would be when Tom gets annoyed that I don’t make it (when it’s my turn).

  • illanna July 23, 2005 at 12:58 pm

    What kind of pattern are you testing? Sounds fun! PS Saw your face on the rosie blog! You are so totally famous now.